Takács and Friends

Wednesday 7 February
7:30 pm

For their final performance at the festival, the Takács Quartet have chosen some of their favourite works to share. Wolf’s light-hearted pictorial Italian Serenade forms a perfect foil for Bartók’s deeply felt and powerfully compelling final quartet. In the second half, Gillian Ansell and Rolf Gjelsten join the stage for Brahms’ luminous sextet.

Wolf – Italian Serenade – Takács Quartet

Bartók – String Quartet No 6 – Takács Quartet

Brahms – String Sextet No 2 in G major – Takács Quartet, Gillian Ansell (viola), Rolf Gjelsten (cello)

Duration: Approximately 120 minutes including interval
Book Tickets