Saturday 3 February
2:00 pm

1919 links two of this concert’s works with Rebecca Clarke’s sumptuous viola sonata and Arnold Bax’s elegiac quintet for harp and strings both written in that same year. Between these two works, we hear a brand-new Festival commission by New Zealand’s Claire Cowan.

Clarke – Viola Sonata – Richard O’Neill (viola), Dénes Várjon (piano)

Cowan – String Quartet  – New Zealand String Quartet – world premiere

Bax – Harp Quintet – Helen Webby (harp), New Zealand String Quartet

Duration: Approximately 75 minutes, no interval

Proudly supported by Laraine Rothenberg

Book Tickets