Bach by Candlelight

Thursday 8 February
7:30 pm

An impressive line-up of festival artists will gather for a sumptuous evening of Bach in various instrumentations and guises, including a rendition of a Gamba sonata with violin, cello and double bass, lively soprano arias, a noble organ prelude and fugue, cello suites on both the contrabass and violoncello da spalla, and finishing with Bach’s glorious E major violin concerto.

As a special treat, Sergey Malov will present a New Zealand premiere of a work written for him as a response to Bach’s Suite No 6.

BachSonata for Viola da Gamba in D major – Sergey Malov (violin), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass)

Bach – Arias from Cantatas 204 and 208  – Jenny Wollerman (soprano), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Helene Pohl (violin), Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Bach – Cello Suite No 6 – Sergey Malov (violoncello da spalla)

Hendy – Metamorphic – Sergey Malov (violoncello da spalla)

Bach –  Prelude, Largo and Fugue in C major, BWV 545 – Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (organ)

Bach – Cello Suite No 1 in G major – Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass)

Bach – Aria for soprano with obbligato cello “Die Welt wird wieder neu… Phoebus eilt” from the Wedding Cantata (BWV 202)– Jenny Wollerman (soprano), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Rolf Gjelsten (cello),Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Bach – Violin Concerto in E major – Sergey Malov, Helene Pohl, Monique Lapins, Peter Gjelsten, Lucas Baker (violins), Gillian Ansell, Lauren Jack (violas), Rolf Gjelsten (cello), Vincent Chen (cellos), Hiroshi Ikematsu (contrabass), Rachael Griffiths-Hughes (harpsicord)

Duration: Approximately 120 minutes including interval

Proudly supported by Dorothy & Alastair Kerr

Book Tickets