Colleen Marshall
Colleen Marshall

Nelson Music Festival Trust

The Adam Chamber Music Festival is produced by the Nelson Music Festival Trust which was established in 1994 and became registered as a Charitable Trust in 2009.

Chairperson Colleen Marshall was born and educated in Nelson and went on to further study at Christchurch Teachers' College and Canterbury University. Until retirement, she was Head of Music at Nelson College for Girls. She was Chair of the Nelson Arts Council for 12 years and a member of the Board of Creative New Zealand with the specific tasks of chairing the Music Panel.

Colleen Marshall is currently Chair of the Nelson Music Festival Trust which administers the Adam Festival of Chamber Music. She was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2014 Queen's Birthday honours list.

Other Board members are Lissa Cowie, Janet Smith, David Knight, Sophie Kelly, and Roger Taylor.

Bob Bickerton


Bob Bickerton has an extensive background in performing arts management having been Director of the Nelson School Of Music and Manager of the Dunedin Sinfonia. He has produced hundreds of concerts and festivals in New Zealand including Nelson’s first music/Arts festival as part of the Nelson School Of Music’s centenary celebrations. He was founder and former chairperson of the School Of Celtic Music, New Zealand Uilleann Piper’s Association and ‘Ceol Aneas’ an annual school of traditional Irish music.

As a multi-instrumentalist he has performed in most major venues and folk festivals around the country in a variety of collaborations and currently performs over 100 concerts each year in schools.

As a live sound and recording engineer, he has mixed and recorded a variety of New Zealand and overseas musicians from a broad range of music genres.

He was involved in the first Adam Chamber Music Festival in 1992 when he was Director of the Nelson School Of Music and has performed numerous times in the Festival over the years, and has been stage manager for the last three festivals.

He served on the Board of the Nelson School of Music during its recent refurbishment and was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the 2015 New Year's honours list.

He is currently working in collaboration with visual artists Robin Slow and Brian Flintoff creating soundscapes featuring taonga pūoro for exhibitions.