Wonderful New Zealand Artists

Our stellar line-up of New Zealand artists include the NZTrio, sopranos Joanne Roughton-Arnold and Jenny Wollerman, Douglas Mews on harpsichord, marimba player Naoto Segawa, NZSO’s Joan Perarnau Garriga on double bass, and the Festival’s founding cellist Jim Tennant.

The New Zealand String Quartet has long been the resident quartet of the Festival, with two members, Helene Pohl and Gillian Ansell, being our highly creative artistic directors (though it’s true to say Rolf has infiltrated the process this year for the cello). One of the big attractions of this festival are the many and varied collaborations between our own New Zealand performers and the international guests, which creates programming opportunities rarely possible on the touring circuits.